G'day everyone, OK here are 15 things about me:

  • My name is Kate (and no it's not short for anything).
  • I have started my own business Healthy Fit Kids
  • http://www.healthyfitkids.com.au/
  • https://www.facebook.com/healthyfitkids
  • I'm 36 years old and a Pisces.
  • I'm married to an extremely handsome firefighter who is by far my number one biggest fan. I am a very proud firefighters wife and we have been married for 12 years. 
  • I have 3 beautiful cheeky monkeys.
  • I'm very private when it comes to my family which is why you will never see photos of them or their names. (edit: ok this has changed after 8 years of doing blogs and websites haha).
  • We have lots of pets from dogs to chickens.
  • I studied Early Childhood at Uni straight out of high school.
  • I went back years later to study a Bachelor of Psychology and in the second year decided I wanted to work directly with families to support them so then studied a Bachelor of Human Services in Child & Family studies.
  • We don't eat refined sugar in our family, but yes we eat fruit and raw honey.
  • I'm a member of the Australian Breastfeeding Association. But I support all mums however they choose to feed their babies.
  • I'm a stay at home mum and homeschool my children.
  • I live in Queensland, Australia and absolutely love the warm weather and going out on our boat.
  • I created this blog as a hobby and to help and support other parents. I am not paid for anything and just do it in whatever spare time I can find once the kids are in bed or hubby is home.
  • I really wish parents and people weren't so judgmental of each and were more supportive rather than competitive.
So that's me and welcome to my blog :-)

My blog was inspired by my love of being a stay at home mum and from my childcare experiences over 10 years of working with children under 5 years old.

I really want to share ideas, experiences and tips with other parents, to encourage and support their children’s development. I feel that I would be wasting priceless information if I didn't share all of my knowledge and experiences with you all.

Prior to having my own children, early childhood was my career which I loved. I am qualified in early childhood and have worked in Australia and America as group leaders, school holiday program supervisors, after school hours care and nannying.

My biggest goal, is to provide parents with the tools, ideas, lists of materials and resources needed to offer their children a wide range of experiences that will provide them with endless hours of fun and learning. I feel there are so many kids missing out on things that are very easy to do, but parents just need that helping hand with the information of ideas.

I am constantly asked by friends for suggestions of activities that will stimulate their child's development.

Through the information I share, I will include a range of experiences covering a child's physical, emotional, social and cognitive (thinking) development.

I will be offering handy information about living on one wage, lots of activities for children under 5 and first hand tried and tested advice on kids, cleaning, pets, holidays, food and just good old fashion information passed on from one parent to the next who has been through it all before and wants to share positive (and negative) experiences with others.

My long term goal is to start a website or write a book.. but baby steps first, which brings me to this.... the beginning of my first blog :-)

Thank you for being apart of my journey.

 -Kate xo

My blog was created on the 3rd February 2012.